Committees

Awards (Click on Name of Award for more Information)

Senator Peter B. Boorsma Award (International)

Chair: James Douglas (NC) jwdougla@uncc.edu
Allen Rosenbaum (ASPA International Director)
Ludmila Gajdosova

Morris W. H. Collins Award (Doctoral Student Paper)

Chair: Kathleen Hale (Al) halekat@auburn.edu
Eddie French (MS)
Mark Bradbury (NC)

Robert L. Kline Award (Masters’ Student Paper)

Chair: John Topinka (TN) jptpinka@memphis.edu
Stephanie Bellar (AR)
Linda McNish (NC)

Donato J. Pugliese Award (Service to SECoPA)

Chair: Jo Ann Ewalt (SC) ewaltg@cofc.edu
Jared Llorens (LA)
Earle Klay (FL)

Kathryn E. Hensley Distinguished Public Service Practitioner Award

Chair: Bill Solomon (FL) Kingsol@bellsouth.net
Anne Osborne Kilpatrick (SC)
Shiri Anderson (TN)

Communications/Marketing

Chair: Casey Seidman (FL) casey.seidman@nova.edu
Roslyn Alic-Batson (FL) alicbatson1@gmail.com
Kenneth Hunter (NC) kenneth.hunter@rockymountnc.gov
Matthew L. Howell (KY) matthew.howell@eku.edu
Dan Lasseter (GA) danl@uga.edu

Endowment

Chair: Anne Osborne Kilpatrick (SC) kilpatao@musc.edu
Kathy Hensley (SC) kathrynhensley@hotmail.com
Ed Jennings (KY) ed.jennings@uky.edu
Alessandra Jerolleman (LA) agazzo@gmail.com
Wes Meares (GA) wmeares@augusta.edu

Finance (Click Here for Policies)

Chair: Will Hatcher (GA) wihatcher@gru.edu
Gary Rassell (NC) grassel@uncc.edu
Ines Beecher (FL) nesibeech@hotmail.com
Kathy Hensley (SC) kathrynhensley@hotmail.com

Nominations and Elections

Chair: John Kiefer (LA) jkiefer@uno.edu
Claire Knox (FL) claire.knox@ucf.edu
Eddie French (MS) efrench@pspa.msstate.edu

Bylaws/Procedures

Chair: Shannon Vaughan (KY) Shannon.Vanughan@wku.edu
Kathy Hensley (SC) kathrynhensley@hotmail.com
Sandy RIbando (GA) sribando@augusta.edu
Meg Streams (TN) mstreams@tnstate.edu

Site Selection

Click Here for Conference Guidelines

Click Here for Conference Management & Oversight Guide

Chair: Suzanne Leland (NC) smleland@uncc.edu
Jerrell Coggburn (NC) jcoggburn@ncsu.edu
Calvin Sims (GA) cesims@bellsouth.net

2017 Conference Committee

Chair: Glenn Joseph (FL) glennjoseph5@gmail.com
Program Chair: Agathan Caraballo (FL) acarabal@fiu.edu
Program Chair: Roslin-Alic Batson (FL) alicbatson1@gmail.com

Conference Chair Transition Task Force

Chair: Tom Barth (NC) tbarth1@uncc.edu
Jerrell Coggburn (NC) jcoggburn@ncsu.edu
John Kiefer (LA) jkiefer@uno.edu

Policy Advocacy Task Force

Chair: Calvin Sims (GA) cesims@bellsouth.net
Terry Murphy (FL) terrymurphy06@gmail.com
Joy Clay (TN) joyclay@memphis.edu
Sheri Empeno (CA) sempeno@yahoo.com
Glenn Jopseh (FL) matthew.howell@eku.edu
Matthew Howell (KY) sempeno@yahoo.com

 

 

Nominations and Elections Committee Guidelines and Procedures

Membership:
The Nominations and Elections Committee consists of three people appointed by the SECoPA President, two of whom are on the Board of Directors or former members of the Board. The third member is an at-large member of SECoPA. It is desirable that the committee members will have been active in SECoPA and be knowledgeable about individuals in the profession of public administration who have served in their local chapters, on national ASPA committees, and on SECoPA committees in the past or otherwise made an impact in the field.

Committee Chair:
The committee chair shall be a current or former SECoPA Board member.

Background and Duties:
The committee is responsible for having a clear understanding of which board or officer positions are vacant in the upcoming year. The Board consists of twelve members – eight who serve as Directors, with four Officers. The President-Elect automatically becomes President each year at the fall conference. The Secretary and Treasurer are appointed by the President in consultation with the President-Elect for a two year term. The archivist is appointed by the board for a term of not less than three years. No Director shall serve more than two consecutive terms. Every year, the President-Elect will be a vacant position that must be filled, along with, four Directors and any officer or Director positions that are announced as vacant in the previous year and have not been filled by the Board as provided in the bylaws.

Nominations:
The committee chair shall seek recommendations from the Nominations and Elections Committee and the Board of Directors for Board vacancies. When considering nominees, the committee shall seek to provide a broad representation of the geographical states that are members of SECoPA, as well as a mix of individuals of diverse backgrounds that would strengthen and provide efficient service to the organization.

Prior to contacting the proposed nominees from the committee, the committee chair shall consult with the President, past President and President-elect as to their knowledge of the qualifications of the individuals being proposed. Special attention shall be given to the leadership and professional skills that the individuals bring to the Board.

Once a consensus is obtained, the committee chair shall contact the nominees by either email or telephone to request that they serve on the Board. A “slate” shall be completed and provided to the entire Board of Directors prior to the annual meeting and must be approved by a two-thirds (66%) vote of approval by the Board.

The committee chair shall also be sure to invite “new” board members to the “pre-conference board” meeting, which is held at the annual meeting. The committee chair shall also inform the nominees of the requirements of board members stipulated in the SECoPA bylaws. Board membership will be withdrawn when a Director fails to pay any required ASPA dues for any year of his/her eligibility. Officers and board members are expected to attend all SECoPA board meetings unless excused by the President with two absences annually resulting in the member being asked to resign. The committee chair shall also inform the nominees that board members are expected to participate on SECoPA committees. Nominees should understand that a commitment of time is necessary, especially in the officer positions.

Other nominees shall be included in a list that is sent to the President in order to include them in other SECoPA committee assignments. This is a great idea for newer members of SECoPA in order to introduce them to the organization and to enable them to get involved.

(Approved by SECoPA Board October 5, 2005)
(Amended by SECoPA Board October 16, 2016)